2011 W. Selkirk Owen Award Recipient

Webb Alumni Association Executive Committee Announces Owen Award Recipient for 2011

Keith Michel ’73 has been selected by the WAA Executive Committee as the forty-fifth William Selkirk Owen Award recipient in recognition of his outstanding achievement and service to both the marine profession and Webb Institute.  Keith will be honored with the award at the Annual Banquet in Houston on November 18th.

Keith’s dedication and service to the Institute has been exemplary as a member of the Webb Board of Trustees for 12 years, holding positions that included Chairman of the Education Committee and the Planning Committee.  He currently serves as Vice Chairman of the Board. One of his hallmarks has been advocacy for broader participation by students and younger alumni.

Keith is Chairman of the Board of Herbert Engineering Corporation where he started his career 38 years ago, and is also a Past President of SNAME.  He has more honors than can be listed here, including being recognized as a Fellow of the Society by SNAME in 1998.  He has dozens of published technical papers, and in 2003 he and his co-authors were awarded the Vice Admiral E.L. Cochrane Award for the best paper published in Marine Technology.  Keith also contributed to the new edition of Ship Design and Construction.  He has actively participated in the International Maritime Organization (IMO) and is a member of the Marine Board of the National Academy of Sciences.

Keith Michel was recently profiled in the July 2011 issue of SNAME’s (MT) Journal.