Dr. Roger H. Compton becomes the first Shirley N. and Stephen R. Towne Professor of Ship Design

On June 7th, an installation ceremony was held to recognize Dean Roger H. Compton as the first Shirley N. & Stephen R. Towne Professor of Ship Design.  Dr. Compton graduated from Webb Institute in 1961; earned a Master’s degree from Webb in 1964; then received a Doctorate in Ocean Engineering from the Catholic University of America in 1974.  From 1966 to 1998 Dr. Compton was a faculty member at the USNA, where he served as Director of the Hydromechanics Laboratory from 1987-1996 and as Chair of the NAOME Department from 1996 to 1998.   He was designated Professor Emeritus at the USNA in 2000.

In 1998 Dr. Compton returned to Webb as Academic Dean, a position he has now held for twelve years.  During his tenure as Dean, he has overseen significant changes to the Webb curriculum and has contributed much to the quality of life at Webb, especially with his creation of the Webb Family Singers and his encouragement of the Webb Players.

SNAME recognized Dr. Compton with its Distinguished Service Award in 1991 and with the VADM E. L. Cochrane Award in 1998; named him a SNAME Fellow in 1999, and made him an Honorary Member in 2007.  He served as Chairman of the Chesapeake Section of SNAME in 1993-1994 and as SNAME President in 2005-2006.  Other awards include USNA Meritorious Civilian Service Awards in 1994 and 1996 and a Superior Civilian Service Award in 1998.  In 1996 Dr. Compton was given the ASNE Solberg Award for Research Excellence.

In 2002 the Webb Alumni Association awarded Dean Compton its highest honor, the William Selkirk Owen Award, recognizing his “personal charm, wise counsel, unfailing enthusiasm, and devoted loyalty to Webb” as Professor and Dean.  In 2007 SNAME bestowed on him the William H. Webb Medal, “for outstanding contributions to education in Naval Architecture and Marine/Ocean Engineering.”