Faculty

The Webb faculty is made up of internationally recognized experts both within and without the fields of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering. All eleven full-time faculty hold advanced degrees in their areas of expertise. The 8:1 student-faculty ratio and extraordinary availability of professors facilitate close work with students and create the opportunity for meaningful student involvement in significant research. The Princeton Review rates Webb as one of the top twenty schools in the country in the category “Professors Make Themselves Accessible.” One student comments there that the Webb faculty is “great”; another says that the rigorous academic program “is tempered by a spirit of cooperation amongst the students and professors, who are always willing to help out.” 

Full-Time Faculty

Richard P. Neilson, B.S., M.S.
Dean and Professor of Naval Architecture
rneilson@webb.edu

Vincent J. DelGatto, B.E., M.E., M.S., P.E.
Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering
vdelgatto@webb.edu

Neil J. Gallagher, B.S., M.S., P.E.
Shirley N. and Stephen R. Towne Professor of Ship Design
njg@webb.edu

Elena V. Goloubeva, B.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Professor of Mathematics
egoloubeva@webb.edu

Richard C. Harris, B.A., M.A., Ph.D.
John J. McMullen Professor of Humanities
rharris@webb.edu

Adrian S. Onas, B.Sc., M.Sc, Ph.D.
Professor of Naval Architecture
aonas@webb.edu

Richard A. Royce, BSIM, B.S.E., M.S., M.S.E., Ph.D., P.E.
James J. Henry Professor of Naval Architecture
rroyce@webb.edu

Matthew R. Werner, B.S., M.S., M.B.A., P.E.
American Bureau of Shipping Professor of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering
mwerner@webb.edu

Edwin G. Wiggins, B.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Mandell and Lester Rosenblatt Professor of Marine Engineering
ewiggins@webb.edu 

George Williams, B.S., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Science
gwilliams@webb.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Thomas H. Bond, B.S., B.E.E., M.E.E., P.E.
Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering

Jacques B. Hadler. B.S., M.S., P.E., Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of Naval Architecture
jhadler@webb.edu

John F. Hennings, B.S., M.S.
Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering
jhennings@webb.edu 

Alan L. Rowen, B.E., M.S., P.E.
Professor Emeritus of Marine Engineering

Bruce Stephan, B.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics

Lawrence W. Ward, B.S., M.S., D.Sc.
Professor Emeritus of Engineering

Dean Emeritus

Roger H. Compton, B.S., M.S., D.Eng.
Dean Emeritus and Professor of Ship Design

Regular Adjuncts 

Carol Bentel, B.A., M.A.

Bob Brier, B.A., M.A., Ph.D.

John Lutz, B.A., M.A., Ph.D.

Michael Soupios, B.A., M.A., M.A., M.A., M.S., Ed.D., Ph.D., Ph.D.