Towne and Henry Installation

Dean Compton and Professor Hadler held the Shirley N. & Stephen R. Towne Professor of Ship Design Chair and the James J. Henry Professor of Naval Architecture Chair, respectively. Their retirements required selecting replacements, and a faculty committee consisting of the sitting chairs unanimously chose Professor Neil Gallagher as the second Towne Chair of Ship Design and Professor Rick Royce as the second James J. Henry Chair of Naval Architecture. The campus community gathered to celebrate the two candidates as they were installed in a ceremony held in the Visconti Reception Room on October 14th. To make the celebration even more special, Dean Compton and Professor Hadler made the presentations to the inductees. Congratulations to Professors Gallagher and Royce.