Board of Trustees

Webb Institute Board of Trustees 2019

Our Board of Trustees is made up of a diverse group of individuals who are passionate about Webb. Membership of the Board covers a wide array of backgrounds and expertise, and includes industry leaders, alumni, the Dean, a Faculty Representative and a Student Representative. The Board functions as the governing body of Webb, and is responsible for making strategic and fiduciary decisions with our institution’s best interest in mind.  Board members work collaboratively with Webb’s many stakeholders to fulfill Webb Institute’s mission, strategic goals, and objectives.


Bruce S. Rosenblatt (Hon.)
Bruce S. Rosenblatt & Associates, LLC

Vice Chairman
Jon J. LaBerge ’76

Vice Chairman
Alison D. Granger P’14 (Hon.)
Chief Investment Officer (Ret.)
Hartford Foundation for Public Giving

Greggory Mendenhall
G B Mendenhal Pllc.

R. Keith Michel ’73
Webb Institute

Mark F. Martecchini ’79
Stolt Tankers


Christopher D. Allard ’04
Metal Shark Aluminum Boats

Paulo A. Almeida ’95
Chief Investment Officer
Tufton Investment Management Ltd.

Sherice Arman
Maples and Calder Law Firm

Richard M. Biben
C.E.O. & President (Ret.)
Gibbs & Cox, Inc.

David M. Bovet ’70
Managing Partner
New Harbor Consultants

Dr. George Campbell Jr. (Hon.)
President Emeritus
Cooper Union

CDR Richard C. Celotto, USN (Ret.) ’73
Vice President, Engineering
BMT Designers & Planners, Inc.

Dr. John C. Couch (Hon.)
Vice Chairman
C.M. Capital Corp.

Hampton Dixon ’11
Manager, Hotel Refurbishments
Carnival Cruise Line

Victoria Dlugokecki ’88

John (Jay) L.R. Edgar III ’87
VP for Engineering
Snow & Company

Dr. Fernando Frimm
FORA Technologies LLC

Manuel G. Hontoria ’88
Partner (Ret.)
Oliver Wyman

John C. Hootman ’01
Deputy Director Surface Warfare Division (OPNAV N96)
Office of the Chief of Naval Operations

Dr. Roderick MacKinnon
The Rockefeller University

Eugene R. Miller III ’96

Wombi Rose ’09
lovepop, Inc.

Phillip J. Shapiro
President and CEO
Liberty Maritime Corporation

Monique Sinmao ’93
Portfolio Manager
Sol Capital Management, Inc.

Kirsi K. Tikka
Independent Non-executive
Director of Ardmore Shipping and Pacific Basin Shipping
Advisor to Shipping Industry

Reneé Tremblay ’20
Engineer, Fleet Technical
Chevron Shipping Company

VADM Paul Sullivan, USN (Ret.)
Former Director, ARL
Penn State

Dr. Jennifer K. Waters ’91, P’20
Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs
SUNY Maritime

Chairman Emeritus
Charles G. Visconti ’55
Chairman & President
International Cargo Gear Bureau, Inc.

Trustee Emeriti
Joseph J. Cuneo ’57
Chairman (Ret.)
MARINEX International

Patrick J. Gilmartin, Esq. (Hon.)
Gilmartin, Poster & Shafto

Robert D. Goldbach ’58
President (Ret.)
MARINEX International

David H. Klinges (Hon.)
President, Marine Construction Div. (Ret.)
Bethlehem Steel Corp.

John Russell ’67
Russell Development

Dr. Peter Van Dyke ’60
Managing Director (Ret.)
T. Rowe Price

Honorary Trustees
Dr. Charles R. Cushing
C.R. Cushing & Co., Inc.

Charles Kurz II (Hon.)
President Emeritus
Keystone Shipping Co.

Richard T. Soper (Hon.)
President & Chairman (Ret.)
American Bureau of Shipping

Ex-officio members
Matthew R. Werner ’95, PG’97
Dean and ABS Chair of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering
Webb Institute

Dr. Richard A. Royce
James J. Henry Professor of Naval Architecture and Director of Research
Webb Institute

Alexander “Minh” Tran ’22
Student Representative
Webb Institute